Dat 12 minute Mile Doe!

Any of you ever play a sport in high school?

You would come to try outs and on the first day a prerequisite to even being considered for the team was to run a 12 minute mile. I remember laughing thinking that was such a joke, that who couldn’t run a 12 minute mile. Come on, I could walk a 12 minute mile.. . at this point in my life I was easily running at 7 minute mile. . .  hating every second of it but easily finishing in 7 minutes. I couldn’t imagine that I would ever run slower than that… ok I was also a 17 year old athlete at this point but God was I wrong.

Screen Shot 2015-06-15 at 3.22.37 PM

Now here I am at 24, attempting to start running for sport for the first time in my life, running was always a means to an end before, I had to run to make the volleyball team, I had to run to get through the drill, I had to run in order to save the ball, but I never had to run to run, I never wanted to run to run… I hated running I would go about a half a mile and my chest would start to hurt and I would start to double over, I swear my collarbone would start to collapse and I would stop.. I hated running.

Today I ran the distance of a 5k, 3.22 miles to be exact so more than a 5k and I probably could have kept going. The key to this was to not be afraid to slow down. Go at my pace, let the people  that are faster go around me and instead of resenting them, cheer them on, we are all struggling to be a part of this same club, no matter what place in the journey we are at we are all moving.

I will probably never be able to run a 7 minute mile again but I can run 3+ miles without stopping, I do enjoy running, I do get up everyday and look forward to my run for the day, I have run 5 times a week for a month now. And there is something to be said about that, there are victories in every step that you take, when you tell yourself to just make it to that tree, just run a little farther, finish the mile, the song, the next ten steps those are victories.

So now when I go out and I run a 12 minute mile I am proud, and know there is no way in hell I could walk a 12 minute mile, but I can run one, and I can run two and three at that same pace, I havent felt my collar bone collapse or explode this whole time.

So go, get out there on the running highway that are park trails, if you are near me, it is Wash Park and the Cherry Creek trail, but no matter where you are I am sure you know the runners highway, the place that is intimidating, get out there, and cheer on the fast people and the people who just like you look scared as hell to even be running.

Because really when it comes down to it, it is all about Dat _____ minute mile doe!

Whereever you at that run is on fleek gurl!

❤ Kelsi Rae

Leave a Reply

