What is “professional” hair?

First Photo’s from my week, or as one of my good friend who just got married says, “Life according to Bride!”

Marley Twists on the first night. Since then I have added about 20 more twists.
Marley Twists on the first night. Since then I have added about 20 more twists.
My go to style!
My go to style!
In case you didn't know I love my ring. It has been in Ben's family for 5 generations, I am honored to wear it!
In case you didn’t know I love my ring. It has been in Ben’s family for 5 generations, I am honored to wear it!
One of my best friends bought me this cupcake stress ball, since I am in grad school and planning a wedding! And I LOVE cupcakes!
One of my best friends bought me this cupcake stress ball, since I am in grad school and planning a wedding! And I LOVE cupcakes!

It is hiring season in the school district world. And since I will be finished with grad school and no longer obligated to work at the school I am currently at I will be looking for jobs in center based programs, which means students with more significant special education needs, that are in a specific special education classroom. This also happens to come at protective style season for my hair. So I have recently put my hair in marley twists to avoid BC’ing all of my relaxed hair off.

But I am finding myself in what I feel is an antiquated debate with myself. I keep questioning if my Marley Twists will be perceived as not professional and if I should take them out before my interviews. To be honest my interviews are not for a month anyway so knowing me and my impatience with these twists already they will probably be out well before my interview. ( I am trying to keep them for 3 weeks right now, but I have considered taking them out already, and it has only been one week)

I am more concerned with the feelings I am having. How is that I have adopted the idea that straight hair is more professional It is not that I am not proud of my beautiful curly hair but for some reason I still don’t believe the business, or education in my case will except it. I am not concerned about once I am hired into the building. I just don’t know what kind of first impression my curls will make. And that makes me upset with society and myself.

Why do my curls give off any other first impression than my straight hair. . . really why does my hair play any part in my first impression when my personality should be what shines through. And maybe it is. Maybe I am stuck in a antiquated state of mind and no one else is holding this opinion any more. Maybe my moms generations thinking seeped into my thoughts more than I realized and now how do I break that perception? I love the way people are attracted to by big hair and my twists in regular life and why doesn’t that confidence transfer over for things like job interviews?

Has anyone else had this problem? What are the real perception in the business/education world about natural haired beauties? Or is it true that straight hair is still the way to go when it comes to job interviews. Have we not surpassed this 1950/1960’s esc. Idea and I should stick to my ideas and straighten my hair?

I think I am gonna try and convince myself to wear my hair natural for at least one interview! Maybe not in my Marley twists but in all its glory, or maybe in crochet braids because that is my next consideration for protective style if I can’t convince myself to keep these twists around! But I am going to show the education world that my hair is as beautiful as my personality and teaching style, and maybe that will start to change this perception for me too.

Now have a great week.

❤ Kelsi Rae

FullSizeRender

3 thoughts on “What is “professional” hair?

  1. I’m proud of you for being so brave! this is also something that I struggle with – i want big, poofy hair but i know that’s not accepted in a corporate setting. 😦 Change will take time, but good job for not being afraid to show them that our natural hair doesn’t necessarily mean incompetency. I do think that for now, straight hair is more accepted so if you wanted to play it safe, i’d stick to that.

    1. Aw thank you, it is not good that we have to deal with it but it makes me feel better knowing that it’s something other people struggle with. Some day it will change, the more we show the beauty of our natural hair the more accepted it will be I hope!! Hugs!

Leave a Reply

