Really, what even is a hair journey?

About five months ago now when I stumbled across Jen and Just Grow Already, this question was a serious problem for me, what is this girl talking about a healthy hair journey doesn’t your hair just grow? Boy was I wrong, and I am glad I have taken the time to invest in making my hair healthy and watching it grow.

The first time I told my boyfriend I was going to start a hair journey he looked at me like I grew a second head and continues to be confused by my wash day rituals and constant attempts to find new styles that don’t involve heat.Because, I Love heat! For years it was my best friend, smooth out my kinky hair and make me fit in just a little bit more with my high school friends who could all easily run their fingers through their hair. And during this time I just believed my hair just didn’t grow past arm pit length, I had no idea that this was a common problem for other women out there.  So finding hair styles that involve no heat has been one of my biggest challenges. I have tried twists, and flat twists and rollers sets( one of my favorites) I have tried wash and go, which worked for about the first month post relaxer, but at almost three months post finding new methods is my biggest challenge. So every week on wash day I get on youtube and look up ” transitioning hair styles.” The women of YouTube have become some of my best friends and mentors and I hope to help walk through this journey with those of you out there who like me, see this hair journey as a foreign country you are happy to take up residence in in order to reach your goals.

So what are my goals:

1)I hope to have balanced hair, protein and moisture levels ( something I am still learning about) 

2)  My first goal is to reach bra strap length, long term goal mid back length. 

3) I hope to stretch my relaxer for six months or 36 weeks. 

Simple goals to start with, I am currently at shoulder length and at 14 weeks post relaxer.(picture to come) You will find I am not exactly traditional with some parts of this process, I have not been consistent with protective styles, I enjoy showing off my hair and as long as I don’t see a marked increase in breakage I will continue to wear my hair freely. I do not wrap my hair in a silk scarf at night, I do sleep on a silk pillow case but I get a head ache both from the scarf and from my boyfriends over a head wrap. I cross wrap my hair or use flat twists at night. These are just a few of my quirks as you will see. I hope to show that some of these things are not needed for everyone’s journey. 

Well that’s all I’ve got for the day. I hope you stop by as I work my way through this journey from pretty much the beginning, and I will enjoy sharing those steps with you. 

Next week I hope to share my wash day, show off my progress so far and the things I have found that work for me, see ya then. 

❤ Kelsi Rae 

Leave a Reply

