How did my hair take over my life?

Hey all, first off, lets take some time to focus on something besides our hair shall we. I know thats difficult for me too, I am a self proclaimed hair-addict. But a little bit about me, below the neckline, the name is Kelsi I am a 23 year old grad student. I am half white and half black, and my hair reflects that. I have a long term boyfriend for the terms of this blog it is important to know that he is white, and my hair becomes a very funny part of our relationship. I am starting grad school in the summer for special education, I am just going to warn you now I will probably share the occasional teaching story with you, don’t worry I will try and keep them funny.

But now why am I here, because I am obsessed with my hair care, but how did I get there?

I am from Northern Colorado, if you know anything about that part of the state there are not a lot of resources to learn about taking care of ethic hair. My mom raised me as a single parent she is Caucasian and had absolutely no idea how to deal with this little girls ever growing afro. Multiple times during my youth she opted for cutting all of my hair off in order to solve this problem. But as I grew she tried to learn about the different styles for my hair from braids to weaves and beyond, however I was not allowed to relax or color my hair until I was 18. As a result whenI turned 18 I did both of these things, with no real knowledge of the affects this would have on my hair

Image

.   throughout college my hair was a constantly evolving masterpiece on my head. I loved my hair, but did not care for my hair. I had weaves put in,and became obsessed with the color red, thanks a lot Rihanna. So by the time my senior year in college came around my hair was a mess, so I started looking at hair forums online and decided I would take the plunge  and b/c.Image That was a about a 73 weeks ago to be precise and I am just gonna put it out there people, THE BIG CHOP IS NOT FOR EVERYONE. I  hated it, after about a month I missed my hair. So I began wearing front lace wigs for about two months until my hair was long enough to play with again. I would have continued to wear wigs but 99 percent of the people in my life are white and wigs are a very funny thing for them to understand, the explanation was not worth it. So after the B/C disaster I began reading the blog Just Grow Already, and became a hair addict. I obsessively read her blog weekly checking every wash day and the beautiful bun inspirations she posts inspiring me to both not cut and continue my hair journey. So now I am here working my way through the urge to mess with my hair one day at a time. You are becoming my accountability partners, welcome to this journey with me.

Leave a Reply

